County’s election winners sworn in

County’s election winners sworn in

Taking their oath of office for the Churchill County School Board on Jan. 3 are, from left, Amber Casey-Getto, Joe McFadden, Matt Hyde and Julie Guerrero-Goetsch.

Churchill County office holders, elected in November, took their oath of office on the second day of 2023 in the commission rooms of the Administration Building.

Judge Thomas Stockard of the Tenth Judicial District Court in Fallon also administered the oaths of office to four school board members who were elected in November.

For the first time in 12 years, outgoing Churchill County Commissioner and Mayor Pete Olsen was not part of the swearing-in ceremony. Olsen, who served three terms, was ousted. Myles Getto, who defeated three other challengers in June, was sworn in and also had his first commission meeting after the 40-minute ceremony.

Re-elected county officials included Denise Mondhink-Felton, assessor; Linda Rothery, clerk/treasurer; Art Mallory, district attorney; Robert Getto, public administrator; Tasha Hessey, recorder; and Sheriff Richard Hickox, who defeated Daniel Sharp. Richard Grondin successfully ran for the Mosquito, Vector and Weed Abatement Board.

Current school board leaders Amber Casey-Getto and Matt Hyde, along with newly elected Julie Guerrero-Goetsch and Joe McFadden, were sworn in. Incumbents Carmen Schank and Fred Buckmaster did not seek re-election.

After each oath was administered, office bearers chose to take a family photo before sitting down to watch the remainder of the ceremony.

A separate ceremony was held at the same time at Fallon City Hall for council members Kelly Frost, an unopposed incumbent for Ward 1, and Paul Harmon, a newcomer for Ward 3.

After the circuit ceremony was over, the commissioners rolled up their sleeves and went to work.

In the first business of the day, the commissioners elected Harry “Bus” Scharmann as chairman and Dr. Justin Heath as vice president. The three commissioners also divided their responsibilities among the board’s multiple committees. Heath will now be the chairman of the Highway Commission, and Getto, who previously served on the county’s planning board, was selected as chairman of CC’s communications management board.

Commissioners appointed Jeff Goings, Mark Hyde and Eric Blakey to the Churchill County Planning Commission to fill four-year terms.

Commissioners also took action on the following agenda items:

• Approved 3-0 a delivery site application submitted by C & A Rentals LLC, managed by Colby and Ashley Frey, for a delivery site located at 9125 Flying K Ranch Road and 8500 and 9170 Pasture Road, consisting of about 707.5 total hectares with about 408.35 total hectares of water reservoirs in the district of A-10 zones.

• Ratified an agreement between Churchill County Social Services and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development for $75,294, Dec. 1, 2022-Nov. 30, 2023, to provide Supportive Housing Programming.

• Ratified the funding agreement between the Nevada HHS State Grants Management Unit for Community Services Block Grant and Churchill County Social Services for $109,033 to provide Community Action Programming.

• Filed a noise and light nuisance complaint at 2100 Trails End.

• Submitted a recommendation to reduce the speed limit from 25 to 15 mph in the Onde Verde subdivision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *