Strong finish helps Dal Pazzo claim victory in annual Kees Glorie Handicap

Strong finish helps Dal Pazzo claim victory in annual Kees Glorie Handicap

Albany Cycle Club’s first handicap road race of the 2022-23 season, the Kees Glorie Handicap, was held on 17th December.

Dating back to 2009, the race is held in memory of Kees Glorie, who was tragically struck and killed while riding.

Sadly, another former winner, Arjen Ryder and wife Yvonne, were victims of the MH17 disaster in 2014.

Held on the bumpy Two Peoples Bay-Nanarup course over 48km, the riders were greeted with a fairly strong easterly gale, one that had been hitting this part of the coast for some time and which threatened to turn some of the lighter riders into bicycle shape. kites.

Given the strength of the wind, the race was always going to be a test of strength and endurance.

Di Fry, continuing her transition from the dark and grime world of mountain biking to the glitz and glamor of the road, started “going” with Lucy Wellstead for company.

They were followed in four minutes by Brett Turbill and Paul Terry and then groups at 12, 13 and 14 minutes, with the scratch group of Brett Dal Pozzo, Brent Schoof and Vince Bascombe from 17 minutes and they had a tough chase ahead.

With three groups starting in close proximity, some tactical decisions had to be made – go hard and try to stay away or wait for the following groups and take your chances in a larger group with more people to share the load, risking that the pace from behind may not be stable.

By the halfway point to Two Nations Bay the three middle groups were together with most of the headwind work being done by the 13 and 14 minute groups and the 12 minute group looking to keep the slingshot from the rupture.

With the turn came relief from the wind but also a long climb to the turn to Nanarup.

On one of the steepest sections, Mark Guerin and Dave Beckwith got off the front and opened up a gap that made them start to believe in miracles.

However, just as they were beginning to set their sights on the front of the race, there was an ominous noise from behind and Dal Pozzo steamed in at a pace that offered no chance of jumping for the trip.

Behind Dal Pozzo a group of four, Vince Bascombe, Colin Ashton-Graham, Mike Staude and last year’s winner Ryan McLaren, tried to limit the damage and organize a cohesive chase.

It was not long, however, that four became two and two; McLaren and Bascombe have the stronger legs, but not strong enough to break Dal Pozzo’s lead, which stretched with each passing kilometre.

Behind the front riders, Brent Schoof, Russel Hart, Beckwith and fastest female on the day Jessica Davison came together and worked efficiently to close Staude and Ashton-Graham down.

After this group, the race had split into one and two with riders grateful to see the finish line after a tough morning on the bike.

There was no doubt about the winner Dal Pozzo, however he completed the 48 km course in 1 hour. 17 min. 47 sec. with an average speed of 37 km/h.

Vince Bascombe was second, having started his sprint with a long, long stretch, and the outstanding McLaren in third.

ACC thanked the volunteers who did the signage, entry and timing.

The next event is the Big Cheese Gravel trip to Denmark on Australia Day.

There is a hill time trial on February 4 at Two Peoples Bay and handicap racing resumes on February 18 at the tough but popular Teardrop course in Denmark.

Check the club’s Facebook page for race details.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *